Growth of research funds is the focus for new chair


PHYSIOTHERAPY RESEARCH FOUNDATION: The Grants Review Committee has a new chair after the appointment of Associate Professor Cathy Said to the role at the end of last year.

Cathy, the inaugural Associate Professor Physiotherapy Western Health, The University of Melbourne and the project director at the Australian Institute of Musculoskeletal Science, is ‘excited and honoured’ to take the helm of the Grants Review Committee, beginning in 2020.

‘I have gained invaluable experience since joining the PRF as a committee member, so when the opportunity came up to nominate for the role as committee chair, I jumped

at it,’ she said. ‘I saw this as the perfect chance to further develop my skills as a researcher while supporting the growth of physiotherapy research.’

In her new role, Cathy says she plans to build on the work of previous chairs to ensure the grants review process funds projects that are of high scientific quality and align with the priorities of the PRF. ‘Unfortunately, there are often fantastic projects that don’t get funded; it would be great to see growth in the amount of funds we can distribute.’

The PRF provides grants to support innovative physiotherapy research, with the Grants Review Committee assessing each grant application against a set of criteria before providing recommendations for funding.

Cathy highlighted the importance of the work of a dedicated group of people, including committee members and external reviewers, and administrative support from the PRF to the grants review process.

‘I’d like to specifically acknowledge the incredible work of the outgoing chair, Natalie Collins, who will remain on the committee and I know will provide me with valuable guidance.’

The APA congratulates Cathy on her appointment and thanks Natalie for her service as chair of the PRF Grants Review Committee.

2020 PRF Grants Review Committee

  • Associate Professor Michele Callisaya Dr Natalie Collins
  • Dr Adam Culvenor Dr Joanna Diong
  • Associate Professor Catherine Granger Dr Joanne Kemp
  • Professor Suzanne Keys
  • Associate Professor Saravana Kumar Associate Professor Verity Pacey Associate Professor Cathy Said (Chair) Dr Jenny Setchell
  • Associate Professor Gavin Williams

Looking for research funds?

2020 GRANTS: The Physiotherapy Research Foundation promotes, encourages and supports research that advances physiotherapy knowledge and practice.

Seeding Grants

Seeding Grants are to assist new researchers working on new or established research projects. The purpose of these grants to help researchers begin their research career. There will be six Seeding Grants offered with a maximum amount of $10,000 for each.

Jill Nosworthy Grant

A Jill Nosworthy Grant is for clinical research in the area of cardiothoracic physiotherapy, or alternatively, for a health program evaluation project or a clinical epidemiology project. The applicant can be a new or experienced researcher. There is one grant offered with a maximum amount of $25,000.

Applications for Seeding Grants and the Jill Nosworthy Grant are now open and will close on Monday 9 March. Applicants are required to submit an expression of interest, followed by a full application for those shortlisted.

Application forms and guidelines are available at or by emailing jenine.fleming@


© Copyright 2018 by Australian Physiotherapy Association. All rights reserved.