2020 PRF Grant Recipients

The PRF has awarded over $1.6 million in grants since 1990, funding research across a range of areas including respiratory conditions, incontinence, cerebral palsy, Parkinson’s disease, knee osteoarthritis and more. Some Seeding Grant recipients have successfully entered into research careers within Australian universities and internationally.

The Physiotherapy Research Foundation is pleased to announce the following grant recipients for 2020; 

Grant Recipient Grant Type Name of Research Grant Grant Amount
Dr David Snowdon, Peninsula Health Seeding Grant Understanding the effect of an allied health assistant model of care on compliance with hip fracture guidelines: a feasibility randomised controlled trial in physiotherapy $9,976
Vicky Duong, University of Sydney Seeding Grant Adherence to exercise and physical activity following total knee replacement  $8,000
Lori Forner, The University of Queensland Seeding Grant Understanding the effects of heavy weightlifting on pelvic organ support in vaginally parous women: a cross-sectional study  $9,867
Frances Coulston, The University of Melbourne Seeding Grant The Circus Project: A physiotherapy-informed co-designed circus intervention for pre-schoolers born preterm $10,000
Dr Sangeeta Rathi, Monash University Seeding Grant A novel evidence-based group exercise and education intervention for rotator cuff related shoulder pain: a pilot randomised controlled trial  $9,909
Anita Plaza, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Seeding Grant Evaluating the effectiveness of a Home-Based Telehealth rehabilitation model for the delivery of physiotherapy exercise programs following burns injury - a randomised controlled trial $10,000
Associate Professor Bernie Bissett, The University of Canberra Jill Nosworthy Grant  Feasibility and patient acceptability of electronic inspiratory muscle training in ICU patients $24,987 

The PRF funds research grants annually, applications for 2021 will open in February.
Please refer to the Research Grants page for more information.

Congratulations to all 2020 recipients.
We look forward to sharing the findings of your research with all members in due course.