World Physio

Founded in 1951, the World Physio (formally know as World Confederation for Physical Therapy or WCPT) is the sole international voice for physical therapy, representing more than 350 000 physical therapists worldwide through its 112 member organisations. It operates as a non-profit organisation and is registered as a charity in the UK.

The APA is a member of the World Physio and has an extensive relationship with the World Physio through individual physiotherapists who sit on World Physio committees and other bodies.

The current list of Australian representatives on World Physio sub-groups are: 

Sophie Heywood Aquatic Physical Therapy International

Rebecca Fagan International Acupuncture Association of Physical Therapists

Lynne Harrison International Association of Physical Therapists in Animal Practice

Kate Lawler International Association of Physical Therapists Working with Older People

Amy Fagan International Federation of Orthopaedic Manipulative Physical Therapists

Jo Connaughton International Federation of Physical Therapists in Mental Health

Maria Constantinou International Federation of Sports Physical Therapy

Sheila Lennon-Fraser International Neurological Physical Therapy Association

Cath Willis, Alex Lopes & Ella Cameron International Organisation of Physical Therapy on Pelvic and Women’s Health

Libby Soderholm International Private Physical Therapy Association

Rose Boucaut International Federation of Physical Therapists working in Occupational Health & Ergonomics