The APA team

The APA team

The APA is governed by a Board of Directors elected by key representative groups, including the National Advisory Council (NAC). There can be up to nine Board Directors, which includes provision for external non-physiotherapist directors. 

New Member Director
The APA congratulates Melissa McConaghy on her election as a Member Director on the APA Board of Directors. 
Read her election statement here. We wish Melissa every success in her new role.


The role of the NAC is to advise the board on important and emerging matters relating to the physiotherapy profession and the association. The NAC comprises APA members who are presidents of branches or chairs of National Groups. Other NAC members include representatives of the student group, the rural and remote membership base, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Committee and the Australian College of Physiotherapists.

The Executive Leadership Team (ELT) of the APA comprises its CEO and general managers across the divisions of finance, policy and government relations, brand and development, education, member engagement and people and culture. 

Melissa McConaghy
Member Director

Melissa is a Specialist Neurological Physiotherapist (as awarded by the College in 2010). She holds a Master of Health Science (Neurological Physiotherapy)...

Leesa Chesser
External Director

Leesa is an alum of the Australian Institute of Company Directors Chair’s Mentoring Programme and was a finalist in the inaugural Future Directors Award 2022 that seeks to recognise board directors pulling their organisations towards a fairer, safer and smarter future.

Ruth Faulkner
External Director

Having served on the APA Audit and Risk Committee since 2017, Ruth is excited to get further involved as a board member.

Rik Dawson
National Vice President

Rik Dawson graduated from Sydney University in 1993. He is a Titled Gerontological Physiotherapist who began his career as a paediatric physiotherapist...

Holly Brasher

Managing director at SquareOne Physio. Physiotherapist at Greater Western Sydney Giants. Titled APA Sports Physiotherapist.

Mark Round
Chair of the Board

Mark Round is currently the Managing Director of Symmetry Physiotherapy – a multi-disciplinary Physiotherapy and Allied Health group in Melbourne...

Amanda Mulcahy brings attributes in health policy and clinical experience to the Board of Directors. She has worked clinically in both the public and private...

Peter Tziavrangos
National Vice President

Managing director, Move for Better Health – an allied health and clinical exercise business. Clinical physiotherapist.

Scott Willis
National President

Scott Willis is the first Indigenous man to be elected as National President of the APA...